English Research Guide

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides.

News Sources from around the world, including Worcester Telegram & Gazette.

Articles, media, and documents about the U.S. political system and government.

Research people, events, and topics in American history from the Age of Exploration to the present.

Le ofrece recursos de referencia en para estudiantes de 6 a 12 años de edad.

Find research tools and materials and search Encyclopedia Britannica directly.

Encyclopedia Britannica in Spanish

Online edition of the venerable encyclopedia.

Online edition of the venerable encyclopedia.

Stream over 28,000 titles and 205,000 video clips.

Great place to start your research, with reference articles, mind maps, and more

Daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, with details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more.

Over 19,000 nonfiction and reference sources on various subjects.

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

Scholarly articles, newspapers, podcasts, and videos about topics from all disciplines.

A collection of digitized reference sources and specialized encyclopedias.

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Authoritative, up-to-date information on health topics from medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more.

Research influential people throughout history. Search by name, occupation, nationality, and gender as well as keyword.

Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.

Find articles, news, podcasts, videos, and images that provide international perspectives on contemporary global issues, topics, and current events.

Research different sides of contemporary issues with magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, and videos.

Research topics and issues in science with academic journals, magazines, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.

Find magazine and journal articles, images, audio, and primary sources about people, events, and periods in U.S. History.

Find magazine and journal articles, images, audio, and primary sources about people, events, and topics in World History.

Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.

Massachusetts-specific, customizable legal forms

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Search some or all Gale databases simultaneously.

Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, and use test prep eBooks.

Learn about careers, receive personalized recommendations, create resumes, search for jobs and schools, and get career advice.

Research American heritage, with 4.4 billion+ records and coverage back to the 1700s, including census records, books, city directories, military records, wills, Freedman’s Bank records, maps, and much more.

The web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions & literal translations of aria and art song texts

Find pro/con arguments about contemporary issues.

Full-text scholarly journals and original research, most content older than at least 3 years.

Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on 130,000+ writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

Statewide news, sports and entertainment.

Database access to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of books, maps, images, and videos.

The world's leading multidisciplinary science journal.

Keep track of citations for research projects, create annotations, and generate bibliographies.

The OED provides not just definitions of words, but also the origin and history of words.

Over 7 million full-text articles from over 1,600 sources, including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements.

Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences research from the National Library of Medicine.

Over 15,000,000 scholarly articles and supplements on science and nature topics. Access to the archive back to 1876.

Full-text articles from The Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.

Boston Globe articles from 1980-current

Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video from more than 150 countries around the world.

News, investigations, opinion, photos and video from more than 150 countries around the world. Coverage from 1985 to the present.

Learn a language, or get extra help for your language class here

Research the cultural, social, political, and historical aspects of U.S. geography with articles, primary sources, and dilemma essays.

Explore women's history in the US, pre-1607 to the present day.

Articles, media, and documents about military conflicts throughout the world's history.

Research the cultural, social, economic, political, and historical aspects of world geography.

Articles, media, and documents about civilizations and cultures from prehistoric times to the Renaissance.

Articles, media, and documents about civilizations and cultures from the Renaissance to today.

Covers descriptions, important figures, core beliefs, customs and practices, celebrations and holidays, momentous events, and significant places of 50+ religions practiced throughout the world.